RuPaul’s Drag Race

RuPaul’s Drag Race premiered on Logo TV in March of 2009. It quickly became Logo’s most popular original program. It recently wrapped its fourth season.

Drag Race puts a number of drag queens from across the country against each other in a series of challenges judged by a panel of judges. The progressive elimination format decides a final three and the eventual winner. The winner wins a prize package and the title of America’s Next Drag Superstar. The show was modeled from America’s Next Top Model.

The show is hosted and judged by RuPaul and a panel of revolving judges that often include Santino Rice and Michelle Visage. Each week there’s at least one celebrity guest judge.

Drag Race is followed every week by its companion show RuPaul’s Drag Race: Untucked. That show features the contestants behind-the-scenes, where the majority of the drama takes place.

A fifth season has been green-lit and will feature a new batch of drag queens fighting for the chance to become the next drag superstar. The Season 5 winner will join the company of past winners BeBe Zahara Benet(Season 1), Tyra Sanchez (Season 2), Raja (Season 3) and Sharon Needles (Season 4).

During the Drag Race off-season, some of the fan-favorite queens can be seen on RuPaul’s Drag U. The Drag Race spinoff, features three real women in need of a makeover and a boost in life. Hosted by Ru, three Drag Race queens give the real women drag makeovers that include outrageous drag looks and drag names.

The first Drag Race All Stars is set to air this fall. So far, only one contestant has been revealed. Sharon Needles was voted by thepublic to be the fan’s choice contestant for All Stars even before she won Season 4. Since she won her season, she and the producers decided it was best she not take part in the spinoff. Pandora Boxx from Season 2 will replace her as the fan’s choice.

Recent Stories about RuPaul’s Drag Race